Académie Equestre

"

The National Equestrian Academy of the Estate of Versailles 

The Great Stables

Shows and visits:

La Voie de l’écuyer - Opus 2016 
From 17 September: Saturdays at 6pm and Sundays at 3pm.
Duration: 1hr20

Matinales des écuyers
See the work of the equerries
Sundays from 10am to 12pm until 25 September. 

- Heritage visit
Wednesdays from 1.30pm to 5.30pm and Saturdays from 1.30pm to 4.30pm

-Guided tours of the Great Stables
Guided tours upon request with our partner Cultival, from January to August 2016. 


More information

During the Ancien Régime the royal stables were situated in the King’s Small and Great Stables, a pair of matching buildings built opposite the Palace of Versailles by Jules Hardouin-Mansart, between 1679 and 1682. Gems of classical French architecture, these two buildings were designed to house the horses and carriages of the King and Court, as well as a number of people such as equerries, coachmen, blacksmiths, wheelwrights, saddlers, doctors and even musicians.

Created in 2003 in the Great Stables of the Palace of Versailles, renovated for the occasion by Patrick Bouchain, the National Equestrian Academy of the Estate of Versailles is a major innovation in terms of live performance: equestrian theatre. A top-flight higher education institution, it places great importance on transmitting knowledge linked to the production of equestrian shows.

The shows, which are put on at weekends, are written and choreographed by Bartabas, the founder of the project and Artistic Director of the Academy. An exceptional equerry known all over the world for his creations, Bartabas set up his own company, the Zingaro Equestrian Theatre, in 1985. He has also produced films on the subject. For him, knowledge transmission comes through respect for others and a sense of sharing. Besides the shows, guided tours of the Academy are organised, allowing visitors to discover this location packed with heritage. This exceptional setting is also ideal for holding private evening events.

If you come to see a show by the Academy you can also visit the Gallery of Coaches, also located in the Great Stables.

Our selection

Brochure "Connaissance des Arts"

Connaissance des Arts -...

Price €8.53
Carnet promenade

Horse ride notebook

Price €6.67
Riding arena notebook

Riding arena notebook

Price €6.67
Riding arena sketchbook

Riding arena sketchbook

Price €6.67

Académie Equestre 

"

Informations pratiques :

Académie équestre Nationale du domaine de Versailles
Grande écurie du Château


L'Académie équestre organise des spectacles et des visites :
- La Voie de l’écuyer (spectacle)
- Les Coulisses de l'Académie équestre de Versailles (visite)
- Découverte du patrimoine (visite)

Plus d'informations (horaires et informations pratiques)

Sous l’Ancien régime, les Écuries royales sont hébergées dans la Petite et la Grande Écurie du roi, bâtiments jumeaux édifiés par Jules Hardouin-Mansart entre 1679 et 1682 en face du château de Versailles. Joyau de l’architecture française classique, ces deux bâtiments sont destinés à abriter les chevaux et les voitures du roi et de la Cour et accueillent un millier de personnes parmi lesquelles des écuyers, des cochers, des maréchaux de forge, des charrons, des bourreliers, des médecins, ou encore des musiciens.

Créée en 2003 dans la Grande Écurie du château de Versailles, réhabilitée à l’occasion par Patrick Bouchain, l’Académie équestre nationale du domaine de Versailles constitue une innovation majeure dans le domaine du spectacle vivant : établissement d’enseignement supérieur de haut niveau, elle offre une place de choix à la transmission des savoirs liés à l’écriture de spectacles équestres.

Les spectacles, qui ont lieu le week-end, sont conçus et chorégraphiés par Bartabas, fondateur du projet et directeur artistique de l’Académie. Cet écuyer d’exception, célèbre dans le monde entier pour ses créations, a créé en 1985 sa propre compagnie, le Théâtre équestre Zingaro. Il est également l’auteur de longs métrages sur le même thème. Pour lui la transmission passe par le respect de l’autre et le sens du partage. En complément des spectacles, des visites de l'Académie sont organisées permettant à tous de découvrir ce lieu chargé de patrimoine. Le cadre exceptionnel se prête également à l’organisation de soirées privées.

Si vous venez assister à une représentation de l'Académie, vous pouvez également découvrir la galerie des Carrosses située elle aussi dans la Grande Écurie.

Notre sélection